Dream: False Enlightenment

Image

I dreamt last night I had reached enlightenment, briefly. In the dream I became aware of the dream-like quality of the dream, but mistook it for the waking world. As soon as I labeled my experience “the awakening that comes when we realize the real world is actually a dream,” the objects in my mind’s eye stopped shimmering.

I guess this is a good example of how the mind really messes things up with its tendency to label experiences. Have you ever been out somewhere and suddenly think, “Wow I’m having a really great time!” and then it’s all downhill from there? Yeah.

Saddest of all is that this dream I had wasn’t even a lucid dream. I actually thought it was real. Just gotta laugh.

Leave a Reply

