Killing Insects…or Not

Let’s say you are averse to the idea of killing a sentient being. Like the Buddhist monk who once sent me a CD with chants on it meant to scare moths away from my bedroom. He didn’t want me to kill them, and I totally get that. I mean, that moth or fruit fly could have been my mother in a previous life, and I’ll get a karma payback for any creature I slap against the wall or flush down the toilet, right?

So I have these two carnivorous plants. This is the butterwort:

Image

It attracts and digests fruit flies. You can see one stuck to one of its leaves. Isn’t that cute?

And here is the pitcher plant:

Image

 

The pitcher plant supposedly attracts flies. I even found a moth in one of its gaping maws. (And as you can see from this photo, a little green spider with either a death wish or a really clever idea for snatching up a meal has taken up residence there.)

So my idea is that I get these plants to kill the bugs for me, then I don’t have the guilt of doing it, right? The plants are like my pets and they are simply attracting snacks to themselves via their special scents. (Though I am not above chasing fruit flies around the room with the butterwort in my hand hoping the flies will stick to it. Never works.)

What do you do for insect control in your home?

One thought on “Killing Insects…or Not

Leave a Reply

