Poem from the Vault: I Took Advice from a Tree

I Took Advice from a Tree

 

I asked it

–What should I do with my life?

What job shall I try for?

How should I live?–

The tree told me

–Make sure you have a strong foundation

that you have been well nourished by your roots.

Go as high as you can.

Branch out in many areas. Produce good

fruits for future generations. And always

remember that age

can make you stronger, and that

the rain is as vital as the sun—

~

[Originally published in Jittering Microscope #2, 1991]

Here is a PDF version of this which I made into a kind of children’s book:

I_Took_Advice_From_A_Tree

Leave a Reply

