Bug Vacuum to the Rescue

Photo of Uncle Milton Bug Vac

Uncle Milton Bug Vac

I recently heard about the existence of something called a bug vacuum, which enables you to gently suck up spiders, flies, moths and so forth and then release them outside. Having recently taken Buddhist refuge vows, I’m trying not to harm sentient beings, including insects. Last year you could find me chasing bugs around the house with a carnivorous plant, so I think this is a step in the right direction.

Anyway, I recently purchased the Uncle Milton Critter Catcher Bug Vac, which not only does exactly what I described above, it also has a little removable chamber with magnifying glass lid, so it basically doubles as a science toy for budding entomologists.

For just $15, this thing has already helped me rescue a fly, a moth and a mystery bug. My kid has even used it to suck bugs off the pool water (she says the water doesn’t go more than a few inches up the chute), but this thing is not listed as waterproof so I’d advise against doing that.

One thought on “Bug Vacuum to the Rescue

  1. Looks like a neat device, but I think I’m content to let my cat deal with any bugs and spiders in my home. She really appreciates the occasional dinner show.

    I didn’t realize you had taken refuge. I’d love to chat about that next time we have a chance to meet for tea.

Leave a Reply

