Adventures in Gluten-free Vegetarianism, 2

So I recently mentioned that I’m trying to be vegetarian for one year. I was fully expecting that I would be starving all the time, since meat is the only food that really hangs out in the stomach for any length of time to be digested. But I have to say that my body has gotten used to it, and I’m not as hungry as I feared. Still, I’m gaining weight, but maybe that would be happening anyway because of my age and a lack of vigorous exercise.

Just before I went vegetarian, I read in Primal Body, Primal Mind “Remember, the more you overeat carbohydrates and protein, the better your body gets at converting protein to sugar, even if that protein is part of your own muscle and bones. (Even hear of osteoporosis?)” pg 141. I am borderline osteoporotic, and I admitted to myself that I was a protein addict. I was eating nuts, eggs and meat several times a day and I knew I was relying too much on protein to calm the nutty feeling I’d get from eating sugar, potatoes, bananas, or anything with a high glycemic index. Since quitting meat, I’m actually feeling more balanced, which is quite a surprise. Still, I look forward to combining small amounts of meat with all the awesome new vegetarian and vegan recipes I am discovering during this process.

I had a dream a few weeks ago that I had a big slab of fish on a stick and was eating it. I took it as a sign that fish was a food my body was missing. Flax oil poured on salads and gluten-free bagels cannot substitute for fish oil; my body could not be fooled. The next thing I knew I was at a wedding rehearsal dinner where the only options were chicken and fish. I chose the fish, ate and enjoyed it. I’ll add on an extra day of vegetarianism at the end of the year.

Then I visited a Thai food truck in Portland, and requested tofu in my stir fry thingy. Blocks away, I discovered they gave me chicken. I ate a little of it, not wanting it to simply go to waste. I felt sick for the rest of the day and part of the next day. I’m still not sure if it was simply the food truck experience, or that my body wasn’t used to chicken. Either way, I am not eager to have chicken again anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

