Experimenting with Organic Wheat

A couple of years ago I found that taking wheat (and generally, all gluten grains) out of my diet caused me to be less hungry, less tired, and to have a sense of clear-headedness I had not felt in a long time, if ever. Over the summer I experimented by eating a burger with a regular bun, and felt too tired and foggy-headed to function normally for a 20 hour period afterward.

Always ready to throw my own assumptions into the fire, I have kept an open mind, and this article caught my attention. It says that the real reason so many people are having health problems from wheat is simply because of pesticides.

So I thought I’d experiment on myself and eat some organic wheat to see what would happen.

I really don’t miss anything about wheat except the convenience of being able to find something to eat anywhere I go in the USA. I’ve already found a gluten-free pizza crust that is superior to any wheat crust (and several people who eat wheat regularly agree that it is the best), and at least one pasta that tastes just as good as any wheat pasta and has good texture. So I struggled to think of a wheat food that I’d actually want to eat so much that I’d be willing to risk being useless for the better part of a day. Then I found some Rising Moon La Famiglia Organic Pierogies and remembered how they were one of the few foods I actually kind of missed and had not found a good gluten-free substitute for.

I did a total of two tests on myself, a couple weeks apart, consuming 8 pierogies each time. They were boiled and then fried up in a little butter and consumed around dinner time with no other foods. The first time I fell asleep in the recliner chair for five minutes about fifteen minutes after eating them, which was weird, but at least I felt fine afterward. The second time, I did not fall asleep and didn’t get foggy headed either.

For all you science types, I realize this story is anecdotal and a sample size of one doesn’t really prove anything. And being able to eat an organic wheat product without turning into a zombie for a day doesn’t exactly help me when I go to a festival and am faced with a posse of food trucks. But still, I’m optimistic about this. For myself, and for everyone who struggles with wheat intolerance of some kind or another.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Experimenting with Organic Wheat

  1. It could also be the “enrichment” they add to non-organic flour. They add back vitamins to make up for the ones lost in processing. I knew about enriched flour, but until I found out about my MTHFR mutation, never realized how bad those synthetic vitamins can be for some people. It could also be the type of wheat. Most wheat that’s non-organic is going to be a GMO these days. Could be somethung in the particular hybrids they use most often. In any case, glad you found a potential solution here. I, myself, am now faced with only consuming organic wheat products to avoid the added folic acid, which my body can’t process and which binds to the receptors used for the Methylfolate supplement I have to take, rendering it useless. Sooo many things out there to sift through. In all honesty, you might want to consider getting your genetic profile done. That may shed some light on various things. 23andme.com offers a complete genetic profile and ancestry data, but you can take the raw genetic info you get from them and enter it into a number of other sites to get information. Anything from how your body processes things like drugs or caffeine to metabolic info to predisposition to certain diseases. Loads of valuable info. I Was amazed at everything these sites can tell you about yourself. Even what foods, vitamins, etc. you should stay away from or eat regularly.

    • I did get my 23andme.com profile done a few years ago, but haven’t been able to make much use of the information. What other sites have you found which I could use to interpret the results?

Leave a Reply

