Day 2: How did you get into your field? #crazyrebelliousart

Long before it was my “field,” I was perhaps lying in a meadow, hot and sticky with sun and insects. Almost sweaty with memory, I’m reading this question as if it were asking more about my distant past than my present life. So…

I wrote and illustrated my first books in elementary school.

When I was a teen and in my early twenties, I did zines and poetry chapbooks.

I started learning to paint at the age of nine and took lessons in oil painting for a couple of years.

When I was a kid I did this still life painting entirely with a palette knife, starting a life long interest in texture.

When I was a kid I did this still life painting entirely with a palette knife, starting a life long interest in texture.

Eventually I minored in painting when I got my photography degree. My photography is now mostly in the form of iPhone snapshots.

I learned to knit in 2007 and to crochet in 2014.

One thought on “Day 2: How did you get into your field? #crazyrebelliousart

  1. I know it’s popular to make fun of iPhone photos but those cameras take some really superb images when one knows what to do with them! Most of my photography these days is iPhone snapshots too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

