Book Review: Incumbent Trials

I haven’t read as much poetry in recent years as I would have liked, so I picked up Incumbent Trials by Isis Zystrid, which happened to be sitting on the Local shelf next to my own book at Couth Buzzard on Greenwood Ave. I’m so glad I did!

This is a heart-hitting (I meant to type hard-hitting, but the mistype makes sense too), intense book of verse. Feminist, sensual and socially relevant to the core, her words are everything from thoughtful musings about our place the universe to   smackdowns of societal hypocrisy around women, sex, and poverty. Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

