30 Days of New Foods: Day 16: Plantains

img_1372

Sure, I’ve eaten tostones at La Isla, but I’ve never actually cooked plantains myself.

It was interesting taking the skin off. I had to cut it at the beginning until I could find a good place to pull it off. The plantain is firmer than a banana and holds together much better, so it could handle my rough and clumsy preparation.

img_1373

I decided to pan fry these in butter, then sprinkle coconut sugar on top, then add lime juice in the end. This was inspired by a Thai recipe I had for dessert bananas.

img_1374

These plantains had the texture of potatoes. Not bad.

 

 

Leave a Reply

